Change font size: Regular | Larger
Left Navigation

Health and Human Services Commissioners

Kyle Janek, Texas Health and Human Services Executive Commissioner

Kyle Janek

Dr. Kyle Janek

Dr. Kyle Janek was appointed Texas health and human services executive commissioner on Sept. 1, 2012, by Gov. Rick Perry. A lifelong Texan, Dr. Janek was born and raised in Galveston. After eight years in the Texas House of Representatives, he was elected to the Texas Senate in 2003, where he served for more than five years. Dr. Janek received a bachelor’s degree and graduated magna cum laude from Texas A&M University in 1980. He went back to his hometown to attend medical school at the University of Texas Medical Branch in Galveston.

After earning his medical degree, he took a residency in anesthesiology at UTMB, where he served as chief resident his final year. A board-certified anesthesiologist, Dr. Janek has been in private practice since 1986.

Jon Weizenbaum, Department of Aging and Disability Services Commissioner

Jon Weizenbaum

Jon Weizenbaum

Jon Weizenbaum became DADS commissioner on Nov. 1, 2012. He previously served as the agency’s deputy commissioner. Weizenbaum joined DADS in 2004 as the director for the Center for Policy and Innovation, where he was responsible for overseeing policy development and oversight, quality assurance and improvement.

He also was legislative policy director for the Texas Senate Committee on Health and Human Services, specializing in aging and disability services, and has experience as a clinical social worker. He has master’s degrees from the University of Texas at Austin School of Social Work and the LBJ School of Public Affairs.

Debra Wanser, Department of Assistive and Rehabilitative Services Commissioner

Debra Wanser

Debra Wanser

Debra Wanser has served as commissioner for the Department of Assistive and Rehabilitative Services since Jan. 1, 2011. She has more than 30 years of health care administration experience. Previously, Wanser was the second ranking DARS administrator, providing leadership and oversight to the department’s Center for Policy and Innovation, Center for Program and External Relations and Center for Learning Management. Before coming to DARS, she was assistant commissioner for Adult Protective Services at the Texas Department of Family and Protective Services and associate commissioner for Family Health with the Texas Department of Health.

Wanser is a registered nurse and has a master’s degree from the University of Texas LBJ School of Public Affairs as well as degrees from St. Edward’s University and Oklahoma State University School of Nursing.

Howard Baldwin, Department of Family and Protective Services Commissioner

Howard Baldwin

Howard Baldwin

Howard Baldwin became commissioner of the Texas Department of Family and Protective Services on January 2, 2012. He has a broad range of experience serving families and children. He was a private family law lawyer and an appointed judicial officer who presided over family law and child support cases. He was the founding president of CASA of San Antonio and later served on the board of Texas CASA. Baldwin was the director for government relations at the Texas Department of Protective and Regulatory Services, DFPS' predecessor agency.

In addition, Baldwin served as the deputy attorney general for child support at the Texas Attorney General's Office and later became the senior lawyer and chief operating officer for the agency. He was a consultant for companies that provide services that benefit children and families and served as interim executive director of the Texas Department of Rural Affairs.

Dr. David L. Lakey, Texas Department of State Health Services Commissioner

Dr. David L. Lakey

Dr. David L. Lakey

Dr. David L. Lakey became commissioner of the Department of State Health Services on Jan. 2, 2007. In his previous position he served as chief of infectious disease and medical director of the Center for Pulmonary and Infectious Disease Control at the University of Texas Health Center in Tyler. He also served as associate director for infectious disease and biosecurity at the UT Center for Biosecurity and Public Health Preparedness. He chaired a bioterrorism preparedness committee for 34 hospitals in East Texas, and he led development of the Public Health Laboratory of East Texas in 2002.

He is a graduate of Indiana University School of Medicine. He completed internships and residencies in internal medicine and pediatric medicine and a fellowship in adult and pediatric infectious disease at Vanderbilt University Medical Center.